Farm Bill Assistance Partnership

logo-legacy-horizontal

BWSR is authorized to grant funds for MN Farm Bill Assistance Program to Minnesota Soil and Water Conservation Districts (SWCDs; Laws of Minnesota 2015, 1st Spec. Sess. chapter 2 article 2, section 7(f), 7(g), 7(l), Laws of Minnesota 2016, chapter 172, article 1, section 2, subdivision 2(g), 4(c), Laws of Minnesota 2017, chapter 91, article 1, section 2, subdivision 2(g), 4(c), article 2, section 7(f), 7(g), 7(k)).

The MN Farm Bill Assistance grant (FBA) is considered as support to accelerate staff capacity to deliver programs that improve wildlife habitat and water quality. Related expenses include:

  • Marketing and consultation on conservation programs that achieve clean water, grassland, and wetland cover. Programs such as the MN Buffer Initiative, Conservation Reserve Enhancement Program (CREP), Reinvest in Minnesota (RIM) Reserve, Conservation Reserve Program (CRP), Continuous Conservation Reserve Program (CCRP), Wetland Reserve Easements (WRE), Working Lands Initiative (WLI), Environmental Quality Incentives Program (EQIP), MN Clean Water Funding, MN Prairie Conservation Plan, MN Pheasant Action Plan, Prairie Bank, United States Fish and Wildlife Service (USFWS) Habitat Easements.
  • Contracts, easements, and conservation plans for these programs
  • Facilitate practice implementation with vendors
  • Mid-contract management planning/consulting or vegetation enhancement activities
  • Guidance of landowners on non-FBA activities to appropriate staff/programs
  • Attendance at training events and meetings necessary to stay up-to-date on private lands program offerings
  • MN Buffer Initiative only, staff will assist with landowner contacts, establishment, cost-share, and conservation program enrollment options. Staff are not to be involved in regulatory actions.

To be eligible, a SWCD must be located within the 54 county MN CREP area.

Wetlands Restored

General Program Information

The purpose of the MN Farm Bill Assistance Partnership is to accelerate the implementation of conservation programs in Minnesota by adding capacity to consult with landowners in the delivery of conservation programs on private land. The end result is more acres of best management practices, buffers, grasslands, and wetlands for water quality and wildlife habitat. This program operates on a quarterly reimbursement basis for actual hours worked under the agreement. All grantees are required to report quarterly on the outcomes, activities, and accomplishments via an invoice to receive reimbursement.

Farm Bill Assistance Staff Guidance & Reporting

Farm Bill Assistance Staff Guidance (pdf)

Farm Bill Assistance Quarterly Report Example (pdf)

Farm Bill Assistance Accomplishments (1999 - September 2018) (pdf)

Farm Bill Assistance Staff Locations & Contact Information

Farm Bill Assistance Staff Locations Map (pdf)

Farm Bill Assistance Staff Information
County FBA Staff Email Address Phone
Aitkin/Carlton Jake Granfors jgranfors@pheasantsforever.org 218-927-6565
Becker

Aaron Salo

Phil Doll

aaron.salo@mn.nacdnet.net

phil.doll@mn.nacdnet.net

218-846-7360
Benton/Mille Lacs/Morrison Nathan Sanoski nathan@soilandwater.org 320-968-5300
Big Stone Joe Otto joseph.otto@co.big-stone.mn.us 320-849-1500
Blue Earth Jeff Potts jpotts@pheasantsforever.org 507-345-4744
Brown Ethan Boertje eboertje@pheasantsforever.org 507-794-4491
Carver Ben Datres bdatres@co.carver.mn.us 952-466-5230
Chippewa Tom Sletta tom.sletta@mn.nacdnet.net 320-269-2139
Chisago Shane Hultman shane.hultman@mn.nacdnet.net 651-674-2333
Clay Tony Nelson tnelson@pheasantsforever.org 218-287-2255
Cottonwood Becky Buchholz becky.buchholz@co.cottonwood.mn.us 507-832-8287
Dodge Jessica Bakken jessica.bakken@dodgeswcd.org 507-374-6364
Douglas Josh Meissner jmeissner@pheasantsforever.org 320-763-3191
Faribault Nathan Carr nathan.carr@co.faribault.mn.us 507-526-2388
Goodhue Chris Fritz cfritz@goodhueswcd.org 651-923-5286
Grant Brent Gulbrandson brent.gulbrandson@mn.nacdnet.net 218-685-5395
Houston Eric Ressel eressel@pheasantsforever.org 507-724-5261
Jackson Dan Bartosh daniel.bartosh@mn.nacdnet.net 507-662-6682
Kandiyohi Aaron Wilson awilson@pheasantsforever.org 320-235-3906
Lac qui Parle

Sara Reagan

Rhyan Schicker

sreagan@pheasantsforever.org

rhyan.schicker@mndistrict.org

320-598-7321
Le Sueur Karl Schmidtke kschmidtke@co.le-sueur.mn.us 507-357-4879
Lincoln Trent Johnson trenta.johnson@mn.nacdnet.net 507-694-1630
Lyon Mark Peper mpeper@pheasantsforever.org 507-532-8207
Martin Greg Johanson greg.johanson@mn.nacdnet.net 507-235-6680
McLeod Kayla Blocker kblocker@pheasantsforever.org 320-864-5176
Meeker Josh Pommier jpommier@pheasantsforever.org 320-693-2854
Mower James Fett james.fett@mowerswcd.org 507-434-2603
Murray Megan Howell mhowell@pheasantsforever.org 507-836-6990
Nicollet/Sibley Eric Miller eric.miller@nicolletswcd.org 507-232-2550
Nobles Catelyn LaCour catelyn.lacour@noblesswcd.org 507-376-9150
Otter Tail - East Mitchell Ness mitchell.ness@eot.mnswcd.org 218-346-4260
Otter Tail - West

Jake Nelson

Aaron Larsen

jnelson@pheasantsforever.org

aaron.larsen@wot.mnswcd.org

218-998-5300
Pennington/Marshall/West Polk Jillian Fejszes jfejszes@pheasantsforever.org 218-683-7075
Pipestone Nicole Schwebach nicole.schwebach@co.pipestone.mn.us 507-825-1185
Pope Nicole Brede nicole.brede@mn.nacdnet.net 320-634-5327
Redwood Kristy Zajac kristy.zajac@mndistrict.org 507-637-2427
Renville Karen Wermers karen.g.wermers@mn.nacdnet.net 320-523-1559
Rice Emmie Peters emmie.peters@riceswcd.org 507-332-5408
Scott VACANT VACANT 952-492-5425
Stearns Ryan Rothstein ryan.rothstein@mn.nacdnet.net 320-251-7800
Stevens

John Lembcke

Adam Erickson

Kasey Jenc

john.lembcke@stevensswcd.org

adam.erickson@stevensswcd.org

kasey.jenc@stevensswcd.org

320-589-4886
Swift Gemma Kleinschmidt gkleinschmidt@pheasantsforever.org 320-842-7201
Todd Luke Thoma lthoma@pheasantsforever.org 320-732-6618
Traverse Jesse Grohs jesse.grohs@mn.nacdnet.net 320-563-8218
Watonwan Carolyn Schultz cschultz@pheasantsforever.org 507-375-3191
Wilkin Craig Lingen craig.lingen@mn.nacdnet.net 218-643-2933
Winona Amanda Gentry amanda.gentry@winonaswcd.com 507-523-2171
Yellow Medicine Brayden Anderson brayden.anderson@usda.gov 320-669-4442

 

Farm Bill Assistance SWCD Manager/Main Contact Information
County SWCD Manager/Main Contact Email Address Phone
Aitkin/Carlton

Steve Hughes

Brad Matlack

hughes.aitkinswcd@gmail.com

bradmatlack@carltonswcd.org

218-927-6565

218-384-3891

Becker Peter Mead pemead@co.becker.mn.us 218-846-7360
Benton/Mille Lacs/Morrison

Gerald Maciej

Susan Shaw

Helen McLennan

gerry.maciej@mn.nacdnet.net

susan.shaw@millelacsswcd.org

helen.mclennan@mn.nacdnet.net

320-968-5300

320-983-2160

320-616-2479

Big Stone

Tammy Neubauer

tammy.neubauer@mn.nacdnet.net

320-849-1500
Blue Earth Jerad Bach jerad.bach@blueearthswcd.org 507-345-4744
Brown Melanie Krueger melanie.krueger@brownswcdmn.org 507-794-2553
Carver Mike Wanous mwanous@co.carver.mn.us 952-466-5230
Chippewa Tom Warner thomas.warner@mn.nacdnet.net 320-269-2139
Chisago Craig Mell craig.mell@mn.nacdnet.net 651-674-2333
Clay Kevin Kassenborg kevin.kassenborg@clay.mnswcd.org 218-287-2255
Cottonwood Kay Clark kay.gross@co.cottonwood.mn.us 507-831-1153
Dodge Adam King adam.king@dodgeswcd.org 507-374-6364
Douglas Jerry Haggenmiller jerome.haggenmiller@mn.nacdnet.net 320-763-3191
Faribault Michele Stindtman michelle.stindtman@co.faribault.mn.us 507-526-2388
Goodhue Glen Roberson groberson@goodhueswcd.org 651-923-5286
Grant Joe Montonye joe.montonye@co.grant.mn.us 218-685-5395
Houston David Walter goosey10@hotmail.com 507-724-5261
Jackson Chris Bauer chris.bauer@mn.nacdnet.net 507-662-6682
Kandiyohi Rick Reimer rick.reimer@mn.nacdnet.net 320-235-3906
Lac qui Parle Chessa Frahm chessa.frahm@mndistrict.org 320-598-7321
Le Sueur Mike Schultz mschultz@co.le-sueur.mn.us 507-357-4879
Lincoln Dale Sterzinger dale.sterzinger@mndistrict.org 507-694-1630
Lyon John Biren johnbiren@co.lyon.mn.us 507-532-8207
Martin Ashley Brenke ashleybrenke@frontier.com 507-235-6680
McLeod Ryan Freitag ryan.freitag@co.mcleod.mn.us 320-864-5176
Meeker Deb Holtz debholtz.swcd@gmail.com 320-693-7287
Mower Justin Hanson justin.hanson@mowerswcd.org 507-434-2603
Murray

Shelly Lewis

Craig Christensen

slewis@co.murray.mn.us

cchristensen@co.murray.mn.us

507-836-6990
Nicollet/Sibley

Kevin Ostermann

Joel  Wurscher

kevin.ostermann@nicolletswcd.org

joel.wurscher@sibleyswcd.org

507-232-2550

507-702-7077

Nobles John Shea john.shea@noblesswcd.org 507-376-9150
Otter Tail - East Darren Newville darren.newville@eot.mnswcd.org 218-346-4260
Otter Tail - West Brad Mergens brad.mergens@wot.mnswcd.org 218-998-5300
Pennington/Marshall/West Polk Bryan Malone bryan.malone@mn.nacdnet.net 218-683-7075
Pipestone Kyle Krier kyle.krier@co.pipestone.mn.us 507-825-1185
Pope Holly Kovarik holly.kovarik@mn.nacdnet.net 320-634-5327
Redwood Scott Wold scott_w@co.redwood.mn.us 507-637-2427
Renville Holly Hatlewick holly.hatlewick@mn.nacdnet.net 320-523-1559
Rice Steve Pahs steven.pahs@riceswcd.org 507-332-5408
Scott Troy Kuphal tkuphal@co.scott.mn.us 952-492-5425
Stearns Dennis Fuchs dennis.fuchs@mn.nacdnet.net 320-251-7800
Stevens

Matt Solemsaas

Chris Staebler

matt.solemsaas@stevensswcd.org

chris.staebler@stevensswcd.org

320-589-4886
Swift Sheri Gades sheri.gades@mn.nacdnet.net 320-842-7201
Todd Deja Anton deja.anton@co.todd.mn.us 320-732-2644
Traverse Sara Gronfeld sara.gronfeld@mn.nacdnet.net 320-563-8218
Watonwan David Haler david.haler@co.watonwan.mn.us 507-375-1225
Wilkin Don Bajumpaa dbajumpaa@co.wilkin.mn.us 218-643-2933
Winona Daryl Buck daryl.buck@winonaswcd.org 507-523-2171
Yellow Medicine

Kurt Johnson

Tyler Knutson

kurt.johnson@mn.nacdnet.net

tyler.knutson@co.ym.mn.gov

320-669-4442

 

Trainings

2019 BWSR Academy

 

 

Contact

Dusty Van Thuyne
FBAP/CREP Implementation Coordinator
Tabor Hoek
Private Lands Specialist