The following are summaries of some of the regional entities in Minnesota involved in land and water management. 

Metropolitan Council 

The Metropolitan Council is the regional policy-making body, planning agency, and provider of essential services for the Twin Cities metropolitan region. The Council's mission is to foster efficient and economic growth for a prosperous region. 

Area II Minnesota River Basin Projects, Inc.

Area II assists the member counties in the engineering design, hydrologic and hydraulic modeling, construction, and finance of flood control projects. Assistance has also involved water management endeavors, river monitoring, and lake and wetland restoration projects.

Red River Basin Commission

The Red River Basin Commission (RRBC) is a charitable, not-for-profit organization designed to help facilitate a cooperative approach to water management within the Basin and is a well-established forum for identifying, developing, and implementing solutions to cross-boundary issues.  

The RRBC is led by 41 directors representing the diversity of this multi-jurisdictional Basin and is comprised of local, state, provincial, and First Nation government representation, the environmental community, and at-large members.  It maintains offices in Moorhead, MN, and Winnipeg, MB, and is dedicated to innovation in the management of the Red River Basin’s water resources.

Red River Watershed Management Board

The RRWMB was created by an act of the Minnesota legislature in 1976 to provide an organization with a basin-wide perspective concerning flooding.  Historically, the activities of the RRWMB have centered on flood control.  Previous efforts in dealing with the flooding problem within the Red River Basin consisted of single projects within a localized area, planned with primary regard to local benefits.  The RRWMB actively promotes a basin-wide perspective for water management.

The RRWMB’s jurisdiction and authority encompasses the area managed by the individual watershed districts that have membership on the Board.  Seven watershed districts within the Red River Valley form the RRWMB including the Joe River, Two Rivers, Roseau River, Middle-Snake-Tamarac Rivers, Red Lake, Wild Rice, and Bois de Sioux.