BOARD OF WATER AND SOIL RESOURCES 520 LAFAYETTE ROAD N. LOWER LEVEL BOARD ROOM ST. PAUL, MINNESOTA 55155 WEDNESDAY, OCTOBER 24, 2018

AGENDA

9:00 AM CALL MEETING TO ORDER

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

ADOPTION OF AGENDA

MINUTES OF SEPTEMBER 26, 2018 BOARD MEETING

PUBLIC ACCESS FORUM (10-minute agenda time, two-minute limit/person)

INTRODUCTION OF NEW STAFF

- Melissa King, Board Conservationist
- Cari Pagel, Office and Administrative Specialist
- Bethany Espeseth, Accounting Technician

REPORTS

- Chair & Administrative Advisory Committee Gerald Van Amburg
- Audit & Oversight Committee Gerald Van Amburg
- Executive Director John Jaschke
- Dispute Resolution Committee Gerald Van Amburg
- Grants Program & Policy Committee Steve Sunderland
- RIM Reserve Committee Tom Loveall
- Water Management & Strategic Planning Committee Jack Ditmore
- Wetland Conservation Committee Tom Schulz
- Buffers, Soils & Drainage Committee Kathryn Kelly
- Drainage Work Group Tom Loveall/Al Kean

COMMITTEE RECOMMENDATIONS

Grants Program and Policy Committee/Water Management and Strategic Planning Committee

1. Watershed-based Funding Program Development – Melissa Lewis – DECISION ITEM

Central Region Committee

- Benton County Comprehensive Local Water Management Plan Kevin Bigalke DECISION ITEM
- Mille Lacs County Comprehensive Local Water Management Plan Kevin Bigalke DECISION ITEM

Buffers, Soils, and Drainage Committee

 Outreach for Development of Options to Address Excessive Soil Loss and Rescinding Board Resolution #16-32 – Dave Weirens – **DECISION ITEM**

Administrative Advisory Committee

- Riparian Aid Pass-through Grants Dave Weirens DECISION ITEM
- 2. Bylaws Update John Jaschke **DECISION ITEM***
- 3. Conflict of Interest procedure Angie Becker Kudelka DECISION ITEM*
- 4. Per Diem Policy Update John Jaschke DECISION ITEM*

NEW BUSINESS

1. 2019 BWSR Board Meeting Schedule – Hannah Pallmeyer/John Jaschke – **DECISION ITEM**

AGENCY REPORTS

- Minnesota Department of Agriculture Susan Stokes
- Minnesota Department of Health Chris Elvrum
- Minnesota Department of Natural Resources Tom Landwehr
- Minnesota Extension Service Joel Larson
- Minnesota Pollution Control Agency Shannon Lotthammer

ADVISORY COMMENTS

- Association of Minnesota Counties Jennifer Berquam
- Minnesota Association of Conservation District Employees Chessa Frahm
- Minnesota Association of Soil & Water Conservation Districts LeAnn Buck
- Minnesota Association of Townships Nathan Redalen
- Minnesota Association of Watershed Districts Emily Javens
- Natural Resources Conservation Service Troy Daniell

UPCOMING MEETINGS

Next BWSR Meeting is scheduled for Wednesday, December 19, 2018, at 9:00AM. Location information will be shared with board members and noticed on the BWSR website closer to the date.

ADJOURN

^{*}The Audit and Oversight Committee also reviewed these agenda items on October 23, 2018.